Trader Joe’s Chili Lime Chicken Burger

Trader Joes chili lime chicken burgers

Unless they are using the chili variety of lime (and I assure you they are not), these are not grammatically correct burger. Tasty though.

It’s got the chili, it’s got the lime – what more can you want.

I would call myself very satisfied with these. Chicken burgers are a well known delicious healthier, lean alternative to ground beef. However, it has also been accurately accused of being a blander alternative as well. The chili and lime flavoring did a phenomenal job compensating for this – zesting the chicken with a flavor that gets the mouths of everyone in the room watering. I actually had to fend off overly ardent admirers of my browned burgers as I ate them. The patties are flavorful without going overboard. I went into these mostly worried that the chili-lime balance would be skewed too far one way or another, but I needn’t have. The chili packed a kick without being too spicy, and the lime was zesty without being too citrusy. A good taste for a fresh burger, or any light, summery dish. Combined with the shockingly healthy nutritional profile (on 6g of fat per patty) these burgers roar to the top of the Taste To Health Quotient.

Other positives – the packaging is tight, efficient and easily storable, and the wax paper in between the paddies ensured ease of separation. The only real downside? No cooking instructions on the box. I’m kind of a numb nuts when it comes to intuiting the way to cook things. Though I enjoy cavalierly disregarding the instructions for most things, I assiduously pore over any meal preparation tips. For the chicken burgers, not being something I am overly familiar with, I was particularly looking forward to a little help, but was left in the lurch. I just sort of cooked until they browned, and although this mostly worked out I did over cook one of the four patties. For shame Joe! To paraphrase an episode of the Simpsons, stupid cooks need the most attention.

Would I Recommend Them: Yes, but look up the cooking instructions online.

Would I Buy Them Again: I could see it.

Final Synopsis: A little zing-pow in your chicken burger.

Trader Joes chili lime chicken burgers - Nutritional Facts


4 Comments on “Trader Joe’s Chili Lime Chicken Burger”

  1. Good Eats says:

    […] Trader Joe’s Chili Lime Chicken Burgers were on the menu for tonight! […]

  2. Stephanie says:

    Why would you not put the cooking instructions here if that was your biggest call-out? I’m trying to find them online and can’t find them anywhere. Thanks for the help….

  3. tjfan says:

    the instructions for cooking are on the bottom of the box…

  4. Susan M says:

    These are relatively thin patties, not quite as pictured on the box. I cooked them frozen, in a frypan on top of the stove. They were “just ok”. Poultry has a higher water content than beef, so they leak alot of fluid as they are cooking, which made it hard to get them to brown up. Using a little oil in the pan might help with the browning. (I am guilty of not reading the instructions, but I also feel burgers should not require special cooking instructions. Maybe I was wrong this time.) I am guessing they would be best cooked on the grill, but sometimes that feels like a lot of work in our house. Nice try, but I probably won’t repeat the purchase.


Leave a comment